Money saving tip: save those old bottles of grip aid!

February 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm 4 comments

Next time you run out of grip aid (depending on the type of grip aid and the container it comes in), save the bottle.  My favorite is Prince Tennis Grip, which I wear over Tite Grip to keep my hands from getting too sweaty.  It’s really the best combo I’ve found, but the problem is that Prince Grip runs around $9 – that’s a lot to pay if you go through as much of it as I do; I practice almost every day and it goes especially fast if you use it on the pole as well.  And because it comes in gel form, it’s not very fluid when it gets exposed to too much air and it can be hard to get that last bit out of the container. 

I had about four bottles lying around that I couldn’t get any more grip out of (even after removing the cap and trying to dig inside), and one of them had even dried out and was getting clumpy and unusable.  Instead of throwing them away, however, I decided to cut them in half and see what I could get out of the very bottoms of the containers.

Guess what?  I practically filled up a whole bottle with the excess residue from the “empty” ones.  In fact, most of it came from the bottle I had thought was too dried out.  Once I removed the clump clogging the opening under the cap, I was able to get to a ton of perfectly good grip aid underneath.  Jackpot!

Entry filed under: How To.... Tags: , , .

January update

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. originalribenababy  |  February 14, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I’m a mighty grip girlie – seems to last forever

    Reply
    • 2. Holly  |  February 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      That’s one of the reasons I wish it worked for me! You don’t have to use very much of it. Unfortunately, my hands get wayyy too sweaty for it to really be effective. 😦

      Reply
      • 3. Originalribenababy  |  February 15, 2012 at 3:19 am

        That was the reason I started using it, especially for routines. If gel works better it’s probably a better/safer investment.

        Often before I’m about to properly drop down into a bow and arrow or similar I have to ‘dry off’ again just to be safe.

  • 4. iamkatiex  |  April 9, 2012 at 7:53 am

    I miss reading your blog updates – Hope your pole journey is still going strong!
    xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


