Zumba!

January 25, 2012 at 9:44 am 1 comment

In my recent quest to work out every day while still giving myself a break from my usual aerial activities, I decided to try out Zumba for the first time last night.  I can now say I understand the Zumba craze a bit more now.  The music was loud and fast, and the dancing was a blast; it’s not necessarily what you’d think of when you think of fitness dance (if you think of repetitive stiff arm movements and squats on the beat) – it’s more like what you’d expect to find in a club (or at least, a club on TV where people aren’t just shown to be jumping up and down and awkwardly swaying back and forth).  There was definitely an emphasis on shoulder rolls, hip gyrations, arm pumps, and a lot of moving around (even considering the large number of people packed into the class).

If you’re thinking about trying out Zumba, drink plenty of water first.  I was pretty dehydrated when I got there and on top of that I’d left my water bottle in the car, so I was pretty thirsty by the end of the class.  Also, stand in the front.  I met up with a couple people who ended up wanting to stand in the back, and I regretted not moving up because I couldn’t really see the instructor.  I can usually pick up moves pretty quickly, but it was very frustrating to have to rely on copying the people directly in front of me, who, by the way, also had no idea what they were doing.  If you’re worried about looking silly, you’ll look a lot less ridiculous in the front where you can actually follow along – plus, everyone else’s eyes will be on the instructor the whole time because the moves change quite often.

I’d love to try it again.  Since starting pole I have rarely worked cardio into my routine, so this was a nice change from the usual strength work.  But despite the fact that I’d never done it before, I was actually pretty proud of the fact that during some low to the ground moves toward the end of the class, the instructor said “You’ll feel this tomorrow!” – and you know what?  Compared to what I’m used to, the more muscle intensive stuff was a breeze and I don’t even feel sore.  Thank you, leg climbs.

Entry filed under: Thoughts. Tags: , .

I am a BEAST January update

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Chwenny  |  January 27, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Sounds like fun.. There’s Zumba here too but I haven’t tried it yet. Too worried I’ll look like a jumping monkey. If I ever give it a go, I’ll take your advice about standing in front though, since now I know everyone’s gonna be watching the instructor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


