December update

December 31, 2011 at 2:25 am 1 comment

Here’s what I’ve been working on this month!

Splits:  Ugh.  I could blame final exams, schedule changes, hectic holiday traveling, preparations, festivities, and a million other things for my failure to keep up with this, but instead I’m just going to keep at it.  I’m not going to let a breakdown in my routine throw me off course.  And that’s that.

Back flexibility:  Still slowly improving bit by bit.  My cocoon is more consistent, my closed scorpio is looking better, and I’ve finally gotten my legs parallel to the ground in the crescent.  In fact, I’m so happy about my crescent that I thought I’d post some pictures of my progress!

May 25, 2011

October 24, 2011

November 28, 2011

December 21, 2011

Invert:  I just started working on keeping my legs straight during the invert (rather then bending them on the way up and straightening them once I’m already upside down.  I’m realizing that flexibility really helps here – the more flexible I am, the closer I can get my (straight) legs to my shoulders in the invert, which looks a lot prettier than my invert now.

Shoulder mount:  Now that my shoulder mount is consistent, I have started working on deadlifting it.  This is going to take a long time while I build up my strength.  In the meantime, this move is the first way I’ve learned to get into another new one…

Brass monkey:  Got it!!!  This has definitely been my “light bulb move” of the month.  Oh and the eros/flight attendant, too.  Now I just have to start working on the tornado for a cool transition out of the eros.

Elbow grip aysha:  I’ve tried it a bunch more times since I first got it, but I’ll need to try it a bunch more before I feel comfortable balancing there for a while.  I did have a small breakthrough yesterday when I was practicing with a friend; I saw her get into this move by leaving her feet hooked around the pole as she lowered her torso into position, before she took her legs off.  I tried it, and I felt much more comfortable sitting in the move than before when I just let my legs go, hoping to stay balanced; I don’t think taking my legs off right away allowed me to get my body far enough away from the pole.  Still need to practice it some more but once I nail that, next up: split grip aysha.

Still working on: iguana grip deadlift, extended butterfly, bum slide, superman, dove, straight edge, jade, cartwheel mount, Jenyne tumble, knee hold.  It’s been a slow month for progress.

In other news…

This month (last week, actually), I found out that I’ll be performing in a showcase in early January!  In order to be considered for the showcase, I had to submit a video of a routine I’ll be performing at the event.  Despite all of the other stuff I’ve had going on I was able to find the time for it, and my submission was accepted!  This will be my first showcase, so I’m really excited!  I guess it does make up for my slow progress otherwise, right?

Entry filed under: Goals. Tags: , , .

My first lyra lesson! Looking back on 2011

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. originalribenababy  |  January 1, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Great pics, looking great! So jealous I may be inspired to jump back on my pole! Hope I haven’t lost too much of my mojo during my break!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


