Turning around a failure

December 8, 2011 at 5:07 pm Leave a comment

I have exams this week and I have been beyond stressed lately, to the point where I’ve been driving myself crazy.  On top of everything, I haven’t been able to practice for a while because my pole broke and I’m waiting to receive a part from the company.  To relieve some stress, I decided to work a practice into my schedule yesterday at the studio.  My main goal for the day was to film a routine I had put together but had not been able to rehearse at home.  I wanted to be able to use the video as a submission for an upcoming showcase, and although I knew it probably wouldn’t be perfect, at least it would be a start.  At best, I hoped to run through the routine a couple times and film it just so I could go back and see what needed to be fixed; I would worry about perfecting it later.  In reality, things didn’t go so well. 

I don’t know if it was a combination of having stayed up late studying, having consumed too much caffeine, not having touched a pole in a week and stressing about everything else going on in my life, but I just couldn’t make the routine work.  It looked so beautiful in my head and I was sure I could get through it since it was all stuff I’d done before, but no such luck.  My hands were slipping, I couldn’t keep from getting dizzy, and barely halfway through the practice I started to feel nauseous and shaky.  I was beyond frustrated.

As I was lying on the floor trying to calm down, I couldn’t help but think, Well this really sucks.  But you’re here now, and you paid for the space, so you might as well use it.  So I sat up, drank some water, changed the song, and forgot about the routine.  Instead, I left the camera on and just danced.

At first, it was really ugly.  I couldn’t clear my head of all the excess junk that was floating around, and when I did try to focus on the pole, I started thinking too much about my next move.  So I backed up and replayed the song over and over again until I was able to let go a little.

The video below is what I came up with.  Even though there are plenty of things I wish I had tried that didn’t end up in my dance, I’m pretty happy with it.  I had felt so low before I started, and yet I was able to turn the practice around in my favor – even though it turned into something I hadn’t planned.  By the time I left the studio, I was actually in a pretty good mood, and it carried over into my pole class that night.  In fact, I even got a new move that I had recently given up on, simply because I told myself to let go of the expectations and go for it.

Sometimes we all just need to practice letting go of everything – the stress, the disappointment, the feeling of failure.  I pole because it makes me feel good and I can use it to escape from other negativity in my life, but sometimes I have to remind myself not to let pole get me down, too.  The extra stress is just not worth it.

Entry filed under: Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , .

November update My first lyra lesson!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


