November update

December 1, 2011 at 12:16 am 3 comments

Here’s an update on what I’ve been working on this month!

Splits:  Last month, I was really struggling to find the motivation to stretch.  This month, I’ve been stretching just about every other day or every couple days for the past couple weeks.  I’d love to get the splits by Christmas so that I can get a picture of me doing them in front to our Christmas tree, but we’ll see…Until then, check out my Splits Progress page!

Back flexibility:  This is slowly coming along.  I am now able to lower from a back bend into a forearm stand (without using the pole), which probably has less to do with an increase in flexibility than with an increase in confidence and comfort in the move (since I could already touch my toes to the floor when I was doing this move against a pole).  I am also continuing to practice transitioning into the cocoon more smoothly.

Forearm stand dead lift:  This one is becoming so much more consistent!  Technically I start with my head down and then pick it up as soon as my legs are up, so it might actually be a headstand dead lift – but there’s still almost no pressure on my head, so I’m getting there!

Shoulder stand:  I keep forgetting about this one.  I thought about shelving it for now, but Aerial Amy just came out with a new Tuesday Tips for the shoulder stand lift so I think I’ll try it out again after all.

Aerial invert:  I have definitely been practicing this move quite a bit, but with the aim of getting into other moves; I have not been focusing on keeping my legs straight so I still need to work on that.

Shoulder mount:  My shoulder mount has definitely gotten more consistent to the point where I can do it every time now.  It could look prettier, but hey, I’m happy!

Iguana grip:  Last month I became pretty comfortable with the rubber pencil by lowering into it from a CAR or CKR.  This month, I finally got the iguana mount from the floor!  Sooooo exciting!

Extended butterfly:  Admittedly, I have not been practicing this one so much.  My calf keeps getting stuck on the pole and I really need to keep working on this one.

Caterpillar climb:  Definitely getting more comfortable with this one.

Bum slide:  I finally got this one!  The key to this move for me was placing my hands closer to the pole, and all of the handstand practice I’ve been doing this month really helped me to feel confident enough to support my weight that way.  Now it’s SO much less painful!

Superman:  Ugh.  Still hit or miss.  Still trying to get over the pain.

Dove:  Haven’t been able to do it as often as I’d like.  See above.

Straight edge:  Oops.  Forgot about this one.  I’ve been focused on practicing the aysha instead.

Elbow grip aysha:  I just started being able to do this one (with my body away from the pole), but since I have done it several times since I first got it, I feel pretty good and will continue to make it more consistent.  I actually really like how the move feels – when I don’t lose my balance!

Crescent:  It’s getting a little flatter!  I know my back is more flexible than it looks when I’m in this move, so my problem is either shoulder flexibility or not dropping my legs down enough (or both!), which is scary!

Jade:  Still trying to get it flatter, but I’ve seen a lot of progress already since I started stretching more consistently for my splits!

Still working on:  Cartwheel mount and Jenyne tumble.  I just don’t feel comfortable practicing these moves if I don’t have a spotter, so progress on these will be slow for me.

And finally, new moves this month:

Splits down the pole:  Since I can’t actually do the splits yet, this is not a pretty move for me.  But I am learning the technique to do this, and I’ve tried it a couple times.  As I become more flexible, it will take a greater priority.

Knee hold:  I finally got it!  I couldn’t believe it.  I’ve been trying it just for kicks off and on, but I’ve been waiting for it to click.  Well, on Monday it finally did click, and I was able to do it several times in a row – even at the top of the pole!  AND I was able to do it again tonight during pole class, even though I had a painful bruise left over from practicing it on Monday.  So that’s probably my crowning achievement this month.  But ohhh, the pain!!!

And in other news…

I’ll be in another pole show in February!  I found out about it not long after my recital in October, which was so much fun.  The February show will be Valentine’s Day themed, and I’ll be performing in a quartet.  We just had our first meeting to pick a song and get to know each other on Sunday, and we’re meeting again this weekend.  It will be the first time I’ll get to perform doubles moves, and I’m so excited!

Entry filed under: Goals. Tags: , , , , .

Well that was fast… Turning around a failure

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. originalribenababy  |  January 8, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    So jealous of your knee hold!!!! Congratulations, very inmates dive move 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. originalribenababy  |  January 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      That should be very impressive – not inmates… Bloody auto correct!

      Reply
      • 3. Holly  |  January 10, 2012 at 1:50 pm

        aww thank you!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


