Staying hydrated

November 3, 2011 at 7:49 pm Leave a comment

I have had a big problem staying hydrated lately, and consequently I’ve been getting the worst headaches.  It’s been so bad that I’ve started getting them every day, and I know they’re from dehydration because I get a different type of feeling than I do when I’ve been concentrating for too long or going through caffeine withdrawal.  And because I’ve stopped working out regularly (aside from pole class and practice at home a few times a week) I don’t remember to force myself to drink water; I don’t even think to keep a water bottle with me.  Well, after my muscles started cramping during pole class yesterday, I decided that I was going to start drinking more water.  And let me tell you, it’s not easy.  Then I remembered a trick I used to use when I went to the gym (I’m serious, I haven’t been to the gym in at least a year)…

Lime juice!  The easiest way to force myself to drink more is to add a little lime juice to my water.  It’s even better if I have real limes around to slice up and squeeze into my cup, because I like finding the little sour bits of pulp.  Of course, you can also use lemon juice, orange juice, or really any other diluted juice, but I like lemons and limes because you don’t need to add a lot of juice to add a lot of flavor.  I also need to start carrying a bottle around, because it’s easier to drink more water if there’s a constant visual reminder and it’s always within reach.

So there’s my quick tip.  I know it sounds really obvious, but sometimes when we’re busy we tend to neglect the little things we should be doing to take care of our bodies.  I certainly needed the reminder this week.

Have you been drinking enough water lately?

Entry filed under: How To..., Thoughts. Tags: , , .

October goals update Well that was fast…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


