My first pole recital!

October 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm 1 comment

This weekend I performed in my first pole recital!  It was AWESOME.  Technically it wasn’t just a pole recital – there were other forms of dance too.  Some of the other acts featured exotic dance, lyra, spinning poi, and silks, and all of the performers choreographed their own routines.  The recital was Twilight themed, so our music came from the movie soundtracks.  My song was Satellite Heart by Anya Marina.

I had been working on the routine ever since this past summer when I found out I’d be in the show.  I had decided to use two spinning poles which ended up being challenging when it came to practicing the routine as a whole; since I only have one pole at home, I had to rent studio space whenever I wanted to run the whole thing.  I had known this of course and was up to the challenge, and I’m really glad I did it because it got me to feel really comfortable dancing on a spinning pole.

Yet despite all of the time I had to put the routine together and rehearse, I was so freaking nervous!!!  First of all, although it didn’t take me long to choreograph the routine, I continued to tweak it right up until about a week (or less!) before the recital.  Because of this and some changes to my costume, I did not have many 100% perfect run-throughs – I was messing up here and there right up until the night of the performance.  Second, because I had not had a great deal of experience with spin mode (we don’t really practice it much in class), it took me a while to find the right momentum for certain moves.  This was an issue I had during the dress rehearsal and performance; I found that I spun a lot slower than I would have liked in the recital because I was afraid I would literally spin out of control or not be able to hoist my legs up for certain moves.  And lastly, my biggest fear was that my hands would be too sweaty to get through a whole routine; however, I was very careful to take this into account when I was choreographing it.  As you can see in the video of my performance, I get an aerial invert and a butterfly out of the way early on, and none of the moves in the second half require a great deal of hand grip.

Speaking of slipping, one thing that surprised me in the dress rehearsal was the fact that I had very little leg grip.  Excluding my sweaty hands, I usually have excellent body grip.  But on that night, I had showered right before I got to the studio (and had skipped lotion) so my legs were extra dry.  And since I was second to last in the lineup of performances, I had plenty of time for my muscles to get cold and my nerves to get worked up.  I slipped once in the dress rehearsal and learned my lesson; I made sure to apply lotion the next day (though it was still hours before the performance), and I wore sweat pants until I had to perform.  Oh yeah, and I bounced around and ran in place during the entire act before mine.  Dry skin had never been an issue for me, but I think the next time I perform I will try out Dew Point Pole just to be safe!

Needless to say, there were many factors that contributed to my nervousness, but all I can say now is, Thank the pole gods I did not slip during the recital!!!  Other than the poles spinning a little too slowly, it actually went perfectly – and good thing, too, because I had invited my parents and a few of my friends, none of whom had seen me dance in person.  So I didn’t want their first impression of me to be me screwing up!

I have to say, though, I was so out of it during the recital I felt like I was in a daze.  While I was getting into position and waiting for the song to start, I kept thinking, Okay, do I go now?  Nope, silence – and people – lots of people…  Now?  Nope, there’s the song starting.  Now?  Nope, just wait another measure, okay – cue!  GO!  And then after the song ended and I realized how well everything went, I was euphoric.  And really dizzy.  And somehow, nauseous too.  As soon as I left the building and started walking to my car after it was all over, I felt like I was going to be sick – not because anything was wrong, but as if all of the built up energy was trying to leave my system.  But in the end, it was all worth it.

Being in this recital was such a wonderful experience; it really affirmed for me how amazing and supportive all of the women at my studio are.  And despite all of my fears, I really did enjoy both the choreography and the performance aspect, and I can’t wait for the next opportunity to perform!

Here’s a video of my performance taken on the night of the recital.  Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Thoughts. Tags: , , , , .

My first attempt at aerial silks! October goals update

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  April 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Beautiful! Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


