Choreography: when you’re fresh out of ideas

October 15, 2011 at 7:47 pm 3 comments

It’s no secret that creating a routine can be tough.  You want to showcase your best moves, but if you’re like me you may have a few default moves or combos that you always fall back on because they’re comfortable.  If I don’t make a conscious effort to change it up, the moves I’ve been working on most recently tend to block out all of the other stuff I’ve learned, and my mind goes blank.  When this happens, it helps to have a backup.  Here’s a quick tip I use whenever I get stuck.

Make a list of all of the moves you know.  And I mean ALL of them.  Not just the ones you’ve been working on or the ones that look good or the ones that are advanced.  Include the ugly ones too, and the ridiculously simple ones, and the ones you aren’t comfortable with.  Use whatever names you’re most familiar with, and if you’re not sure of the name, just make a note describing the move.  Then, organize them.  I like to organize them in a way that will help me when I’m building a routine, so that if I need a particular kind of move – like an invert, spin, or transition – I know exactly where to look.  Here’s an example:

Standing moves:

body rolls

hip circles

fan kick

Transitions to floor:

slide down

spin down

backbend

Floorwork:

crawl

shoulder roll

forearm stand

Transitions from floor:

spin up (from kneeling)

pull up toe drag (from kneeling)

Spins (on static):

fireman

back hook

reverse grab

Spins (on spinning):

rockstar

roxy

angel

Climbs:

side climb

monkey climb

caterpillar climb

Upright moves:

plank

pole sit

teddy

Inverted moves:

chopper

cross knee/cross ankle release

butterfly

Pole Holds:

twisted grip

split grip

It’s best to keep this list updated with new moves as you learn them – that way, it will serve as a reminder of what you need to work on, and you’ll be able to pull it out for reference whenever you need some ideas.  I started my list when I first began pole dancing, and countless times since then it has proved to be indispensable.  I also have a separate list for moves I want to learn and cool combos I’ve come up with or want to try.  Having everything written down just makes things so much easier!

For more choreography tips, including how to use a list like this one effectively in order to build a routine, check out this article by PoleSkivvies.

Entry filed under: How To..., Inspiration. Tags: , , , , .

Changing the photo on your fridge My first attempt at aerial silks!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. originalribenababy  |  October 16, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I’m still to be daring enough to put together a routine – for one my hands always seem to get skippy half way through!

    I just wanted to say what a beautiful pic! Never would have thought to make what looks like it started life as a simple Gemini and make it look so good 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


