Changing the photo on your fridge

October 10, 2011 at 1:14 am 3 comments

Around the time that I started pole dancing, I found a picture online of a woman doing an inside leg hang that I thought looked just beautiful.  It certainly wasn’t a move I could do at the time (in fact, I wasn’t even close to being able to do any inverted moves at the time), but I printed it out and taped it to my fridge because I figured, well, maybe I’ll be able to do this eventually.  And when I can do this move, then I’ll know that I’ve really gotten somewhere.

Eventually, I started working on the same move, and after a while I finally got it.  In fact, once I began to feel comfortable with it, I started to view the inside leg hang as such a basic move that it became merely a transition into something else.  And you know what?  With all of the other junk I currently have taped to my fridge, I had completely forgotten about the photo that I had found and totally adored several months before.  Recently, it caught my eye and I actually felt kind of bad; I’m sorry, I’ve ignored you and I stopped thinking you were special...  Because really, an inside leg hang is nothing to sneeze at; it’s a beautiful move, and once upon a time not so long ago, I couldn’t do it.

I still have a ton of moves that I’d love to be able to do “if only…”  Yet sometimes it amazes me that when I really get rolling and start mastering a bunch of new ones, I tend to forget that some of them used to be on – or even at the very top of – my list of goals.  Sometimes I need to remind myself that, instead of getting worked up over what I can’t do, I really should be celebrating what I can do.  And instead of feeling negative when I realize I’m not practicing or stretching like I should be, maybe I just need to tape a photo of my new dream move to the fridge.  Because there aren’t many better things than finding it much later and realizing that, yes, I have “gotten somewhere.”

Entry filed under: Goals, Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , .

How to make your own silhouette shirts Choreography: when you’re fresh out of ideas

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chwenny  |  October 10, 2011 at 1:49 am

    So true.. I just remembered that the first time I walked into my previous studio, I was floored just seeing an upright crucifix for the first time!

    Reply
  • 2. originalribenababy  |  October 10, 2011 at 5:18 am

    I adored the picture of someone doing a Jade/De Ville when I started and never thought I’d be that good. It’s a move we were working on last level! My splits are rubbish so I don’t look fab doing it but the technique is there so I was well chuffed!

    What are you going to choose as your new move idol? 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Holly  |  October 10, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Oh the jade (and allegra) will definitely be going up there since I don’t have the splits yet and I know I’d be able to do it otherwise – but I need motivation to get the flexibility for it! And I’ll probably add in the jackknife since I really want to get the cartwheel/handspring mounts and I’m pretty far away from those right now. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


