What pole dancing has taught me

September 15, 2011 at 8:36 pm 1 comment

I know this is not the only ode to pole dancing out there, but here is my personal list.

Pole dancing has taught me:

1.  How to work not only the pole but also the wall, floor, chair, lap, and even the occasional random unsuspecting street sign.

2.  How to walk in platform heels without falling on my face.

3.  How to sound interesting – and raise eyebrows – at parties.  (“So what do you do for fun?” “I pole dance.” “You – wait, what?”)

4.  How to entertain my friends.  (“Teach me how to pole dance!”)

5.  How to dangle upside-down 10 feet (or more) in the air – and still not be afraid of heights.  And this is coming from the girl who didn’t like playing on the monkey bars when she was a kid.

6.  How to look graceful while performing amazing acts of strength.

7.  How to assemble and disassemble a 45-lb multi-piece pole in record time.

8.  How to maintain my sanity; how to distract myself from stress.

9.  How to deal with pain.  How to best care for bruises.

10.  Where to find awesome music.

11.  Not to care about what other people think.

12.  Not to be afraid of my sexuality.

13.  To feel comfortable with my body, even the parts I don’t like.

14.  It’s okay to strut around in lingerie.

15.  It’s not just for strippers (who, by the way, are people too – and they are often way more talented than they get credit for).  And it’s not even just for women.

16.  It doesn’t have to be sexual; I can actually share my accomplishments with my parents.

17.  I may not be physically stronger than any of my guy friends, but I can still do things they can’t.

18.  I’m still capable of sprouting muscles, even in places where I thought they would forever remain nonexistent.

19.  I’m a fitness addict – at least when it comes to pole dancing.  Again from the girl who was NOT involved in 50 different sports as a kid.

20.  I just can’t resist a spin – or five – or ten – whenever I enter the same room as my pole.  Even if I’m sore from practice the day before.

21.  I always know how to fill my free time.  (“Let’s see, I haven’t learned THIS move yet…”)

22.  There are few things I look forward to more each week than pole class.

23.  My pole has the magical ability to become invisible whenever the plumber, electrician, or food delivery guy shows up at my door…or maybe, they just don’t want to ask.

24.  I have a whole new list of activities I can’t wait to try – like lyra, silks, belly dancing, modern dance, hooping, and contortion (to name only a few).  I’m an adult now, but this is the first time I’ve ever wanted to run away and join the circus.

25.  I should have started pole dancing years ago.

Click here for more reasons why pole dancing ROCKS.

What about you?  What have you learned from pole dancing?

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Thoughts. Tags: , , , .

In progress… “Stripper shoes” and Facebook

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. originalribenababy  |  September 20, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Pole dancing taught me that if something is worthwhile in life you have to put in hard work – and probably some pain! – to get there.

    It’s stupid to admit at 27 but I had thought prior to poling I could amble by in life ‘pain-free’ and still get everything I want. Now I realise if you want it a little pain is more than worth it in the end.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


