In progress…

September 14, 2011 at 1:07 pm Leave a comment

Here’s what I’m currently working on!  Some of these are more immediate goals, and others are more long-term.

Splits.  (See my new Splits Progress page, and check back in a few weeks if you’re interested to see how I improve!)

Back flexibility.  I want to be able to touch my toes to my head!  Then maybe it won’t be so difficult to get into the cocoon, which I would probably love doing if only I were a little more flexy…

Improving my aerial invert.  Thank you to Mina Mortezaie for her Spinning Fan Kicks tutorial – thinking about doing a fan kick is a great way to make the invert more graceful, and it is helping me a ton!

Continue practicing the iguana grip.  It’s getting more and more consistent and I’ve finally gotten to the point where I can do a rubber pencil without a mat (yay! that was one of my previous goals!), but I need to keep practicing before I feel comfortable doing it every. single. time.

Extended butterfly.

Lifting up into a forearm stand (without kicking up).

Balancing in shoulder stand.

More consistent/prettier shoulder mount.

Painless bum slide.

Painless superman.

Consistent caterpillar climb.

Consistent straight edge.  And when I get that one….

Inverted back hook/eros.

Bonus goal #1: Waving legs.  Aerial Amy has a great tutorial for this one on her blog.

Bonus goal #2: Back walkover.  (Not specifically pole-related, but I’ve been wanting to learn it to spice up my floor work.)

Entry filed under: Goals. Tags: , , .

Frustration What pole dancing has taught me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


