Frustration

September 12, 2011 at 11:29 am 2 comments

So I’ve hit a block.  I’m at a point where I have several advanced moves under my belt.  But as I have been doing more freestyles and composing more choreography, I’ve realized that my repertoire of “wow” moves – moves I love to do and can do well and that I believe showcase my talents best – is quite limited.  These aren’t necessarily the most advanced moves I know, but they’re at least the mildly impressive moves I feel comfortable with.  For instance, I have a pretty bendy back, so the forearm stand and rubber pencil fall into this category for me.  I also love doing the cross knee release, drama queen, butterfly, and gemini, and I love doing them A LOT.  As in, those are my default moves whenever I freestyle.  I’m trying to get away from doing them all of the time, but what else do I do instead?  I learn new tricks.  However, there are a lot of tricks I would love to learn that I just can’t do because I’m not flexible.  So I work on my flexibility.  But then I’m not actually doing anything on the pole.  And then, there are still those other tricks that fall through the cracks – the ones I have learned but don’t like or can’t do well, so I don’t do them.  And THEN, there are the ones in the middle – the ones I’m okay with, which could be better but which I’m too lazy to improve.  Arrrggg!

I’m not really sure what the solution should be.  I could go back to the basics and improve the tricks I already know, even the ones I don’t like.  I could learn new tricks.  I could throw a combination of moves into a routine and work on both the tricks and the transitions in and out of them – this actually helped me to solidify some of my new favorite moves in the first place, because, by using a routine, I was also working on flow and timing.  However, that’s how I got stuck doing the same combos over and over again… It’s kind of a Catch-22.

Back to flexibility for a moment.  I am really becoming aware of how limited I am.  Even excluding the tricks that rely largely on flexibility to execute (like the chopsticks or the allegra), flexibility just makes certain tricks look prettier – even tricks as basic as the scorpio.  I keep saying I’m going to become more serious about stretching (I even promised to in a blog post!), but in reality I’ve only come up with excuses not to.  And that only frustrates me more, because making excuses is exactly the thing I swore not to do.  So I feel like a hypocrite.

I’m thinking about adding a flexibility section to this blog where I post my splits progress.  Hopefully that will be the kick in the butt I need to keep it up, since it will be posted for everyone to see.  Until then, I still need to figure out how I am going to continue structuring my practices.  I haven’t been able to take a pole class for several weeks, so I am really excited to start a new session next week.  Maybe that will give me some direction.

Entry filed under: Thoughts. Tags: , , , .

Review: Mipole LED lighting for your pole In progress…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chwenny  |  September 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    What?! I’ve seen your videos, and the sheer fact that you can dance And choreograph to your Own music is awesome, but you look lovely doing it too. All I ever do is show up for class and try to get through the class routine. Try making a list of your pole accomplishments, TWO to match every so-called frustration 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Holly  |  September 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      Awww thanks Chwenny! But there’s so much that I don’t post that doesn’t look as lovely…Maybe I will try that list though as my next post… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


