Why you need a crash mat

June 8, 2011 at 4:58 am Leave a comment

A couple months after I started pole dancing and bought my own pole, I realized I would eventually need to invest in a crash mat.  I was just learning to invert, and though I’ve heard plenty of polers use couch pillows to cushion their falls, I found them to be difficult to work with.  While I suppose the pillows were fine to start out with, I just couldn’t see how they could replace a good quality pole mat long term.  Here are a few reasons why:

  • the couch pillows were awkward to stand on and difficult to maneuver around when preparing to invert
  • they slid around the floor too easily
  • they didn’t feel dense enough to cushion a real fall
  • they were too small
  • I didn’t have enough pillows to go all the way around the pole, and somehow I would usually end up rotating and hanging over wherever the pillows weren’t
  • I was afraid of falling between them and hitting the (hardwood) floor – ouch!

So, I did some research.  I realized that if I wanted a mat that would cushion my fall (meaning it would have to be about 5 feet in diameter and about 5 inches thick), I’d have to shell out upwards of $200…that’s almost as much as I paid for my pole!  Maybe it was just me, but I thought that was a little ridiculous for a piece of circular foam.

In search of a cheaper route, I read on a forum that you could make your own pole mat out of upholstery foam sold in a fabric store.  But when I actually went into the store and factored in how much it would cost to buy enough foam to cover the dimensions I needed and enough fabric to cover the foam, I would have ended up paying about the same to make it myself – and expending a lot more energy.  So, after much deliberation, I finally decided to buy a real crash mat instead.

I’m so glad I did.  Being able to pull out the mat whenever I’ve wanted to try a new move – and not being afraid of hitting the hard floor – has given me so much confidence.  I wouldn’t be able to do half of the advanced moves I’ve since learned without it, especially because I don’t have anyone to spot me at home.  And even though it was really expensive, it was worth every penny.

If you’re looking for a crash mat, here’s the one I purchased.

For more general info about buying a pole mat and comparing different manufacturers, check out this article by PoleSkivvies.

Entry filed under: Pole Gear. Tags: .

Telling people you pole dance…or not Videotaping: try it next time you pole dance

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


