For the new pole dancer

June 7, 2011 at 8:16 pm Leave a comment

I have never been very athletic.  In fact, I have always considered myself to be rather weak.  I don’t have an intense sports or dance background, I’m not very flexible, and I have the hardest time dragging myself to the gym.  The first time I came across Felix Cane on YouTube, my jaw hit the floor and I thought, I will never be able to do that.

I started taking pole classes at a local studio in September 2010.  In my first class, I struggled with the most basic spin and I couldn’t climb the pole.  I felt clumsy and tired and sore, but I was having so much fun.  I had been feeling down in the dumps, but pole classes gave me something to look forward to every week.

Fast-forward ten months later, and I’m taking my second advanced level class – I’m certainly no Felix Cane, but I can do more than I ever thought possible.  I feel strong and confident, and I’m improving my flexibility.  And I am much happier; even when everything else feels draining, learning a new move or rocking out on the pole to upbeat music never fails to lift my spirits.

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t always have a good practice, and sometimes I get very frustrated because I can’t nail a move.  I’ve had to learn when to breathe, when to take a break, and when to quit and move on to something else if it just isn’t working.  If you’re struggling, especially if you’re new to the pole, please don’t give up!  Pole dancing can be dangerous if you push yourself too hard, but it can also be so rewarding in so many ways if you just keep at it.  Pole dancing is not just a hobby – it’s an obsession, it’s medication, and it’s love.

If that isn’t enough to convince you, here are 51 reasons you should learn to pole dance right now.

Entry filed under: Inspiration. Tags: , , .

Telling people you pole dance…or not

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Find me on Facebook!

Follow me on Twitter!

Recent Posts


